TikTok is testing its own ‘retweet’ feature, but it’s very different from Twitter’s. The videos you share will also only appear to your mutual followers, the people who follow you.
TikTok is testing a new feature similar to Twitter’s retweet.
The feature allows users to share content with followers without having to send videos one by one.
The new button will appear in the ‘Share’ section, where you will currently find the options to share content with certain followers or in other applications such as WhatsApp or Instagram.
However, there are some major differences from Twitter’s retweet button.
The new feature will not add the reposted video to your profile, according to TechCrunch ; it only appears on your followers’ “For You” feeds.
Only posts you find in the ‘For you’ feed can be reposted.
For example, you can’t share videos that you find in your inbox or through the “Discover” section.
The videos you share will also only appear to your mutual followers, the people who follow you.
This is designed to prevent creators from abusing the feature by promoting each other’s videos, according to TechCrunch.
The new button is being tested on some users of the public version of TikTok, TechCrunch confirmed.
People who have enabled this new feature can also add a post explaining why they republished the video.
The goal of TikTok is to engage passive users on the platform, and the new feature also gives creators more options to watch videos.
Source: business insider